The information contained in this section has been procured from  the Celiac Disease Foundation.

It is all for educational purposes and not intended to be taken as medical advice.

Hidden Gluten

Gluten is found in the most unexpected everyday products, foods, and ingredients. It is important to learn how to recognize "hidden gluten"  so as to avoid getting "glutened" by accident. It could seem like a daunting task at first, but with time we all become experts at identifying that pesky hidden ingredient.

Grocery Store Worker

Hidden Gluten in Food Products

These foods must be verified by reading the label or checking with the manufacturer/kitchen staff.

  • Energy bars/granola bars – some bars may contain wheat as an ingredient, and most use oats that are not gluten-free

  • French fries – be careful of batter containing wheat flour or cross-contact from fryers

  • Potato chips – some potato chip seasonings may contain malt vinegar or wheat starch

  • Processed lunch meats

  • Candy and candy bars

  • Soup – pay special attention to cream-based soups, which have flour as a thickener. Many soups also contain barley

  • Multi-grain or “artisan” tortilla chips or tortillas that are not entirely corn-based may contain a wheat-based ingredient

  • Salad dressings and marinades – may contain malt vinegar, soy sauce, flour

  • Starch or dextrin if found on a meat or poultry product could be from any grain, including wheat

  • Brown rice syrup – may be made with barley enzymes

  • Meat substitutes made with seitan (wheat gluten) such as vegetarian burgers, vegetarian sausage, imitation bacon, imitation seafood (Note: tofu is gluten-free, but be cautious of soy sauce marinades and cross-contact when eating out, especially when the tofu is fried)

  • Soy sauce (though tamari made without wheat is gluten-free)

  • Self-basting poultry

  • Pre-seasoned meats

  • Cheesecake filling – some recipes include wheat flour

  • Eggs served at restaurants – some restaurants put pancake batter in their scrambled eggs and omelets, but on their own, eggs are naturally gluten-free.


Sources: Celiac Disease Foundation 

Cooking blog