The information contained in this section has been procured from  the Celiac Disease Foundation.

It is all for educational purposes and not intended to be taken as medical advice.

Where Gluten is Found

Grains

The following grains contain gluten

  • Wheat

  • Varieties and derivatives of wheat such as:

    • wheatberries

    • durum

    • emmer

    • semolina

    • spelt

    • farina

    • farro

    • graham

    • KAMUT® khorasan wheat

    • einkorn wheat

  • Rye

  • Barley

  • Triticale

  • Malt in various forms including: malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar

  • Brewer’s Yeast

  • Wheat Starch that has not been processed to remove the presence of gluten to below 20ppm and adhere to the FDA Labeling Law.

 

Sources: Celiac Disease Foundation 

Barley Grains

Cooking blog

Bread Section

Breads

  • Breads: bagels, biscuits, cornbread, flatbread, naan, pita, rolls

  • Breading: breadcrumbs, croutons

  • Breakfast food: crepes, French toast, pancakes, waffles

  • Cereal and Granola

  • Crackers: graham crackers, pretzels

  • Baked goods: brownies, cakes, cookies, croissants, donuts, muffins, pies

  • Flour tortillas

Sources: Celiac Disease Foundation 

Pasta

  • Noodles: egg, ramen, soba, udon

  • Pastas: couscous, ravioli, spaghetti, linguini, lasagna, and so on.

Sources: Celiac Disease Foundation 

Italian Deli Pasta
Condiments

Condiments, Sauces, and Side Dishes

  • Sauces: gravy, soy sauce, cream sauces made with flour

  • Soups: bouillon or soup mixes

  • Condiments: malt vinegar, salad dressing

  • Some French fries

Sources: Celiac Disease Foundation 

Beverages

  • Beer: ales, lagers, malt beverages, porter, stout, and other beers especially made to be gluten-free

  • Brewer’s yeast: you’ll see “wheat flour” on the ingredient list

 

Ingredient labels on these foods, and any others that contain gluten, might have one or more of these words: wheat, wheat berries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, Kamut khorasan wheat, einkorn wheat, malt or malted, wheat starch.

 

Sources: Celiac Disease Foundation 

Beer on Tap
IMG_3956_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
Contact Us

Subscribe here

© 2021 by JoeandtheGlutenFreeLife Productions